Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

States Award NEVI Charging Station Contracts

July 18, 2023

electric vehicle charging station

The Bipartisan Infrastructure Law established the National Electric Vehicle Infrastructure (NEVI) Formula Program, which provides $5 billion over five years to states to deploy a network of charging stations across the United States. Last week, Hawaii and Ohio announced significant progress towards installing electric vehicle (EV) charging stations.

On July 11, the Hawaii Department of Transportation (DOT) identified Tritium DCFC Limited as the company that will provide all fast chargers for Hawaii’s first round of NEVI funding. Two NEVI stations—one on Oahu and one on Maui—are slated to be installed and available to the public by the end of 2023, and additional stations are planned on Hawaii and Kauai.

When interviewed by the Honolulu Star-Advertiser, Joint Office of Energy and Transportation Executive Director Gabe Klein mentioned the announcement was the culmination of work by the state DOT with federal and industry partners.

“At the federal level, we are very excited about the progress Hawaii has made in implementing NEVI and getting us one step closer to modernizing the nation’s transportation system,” Klein said. “This is an important milestone, and we will see other states follow Hawaii’s lead in finalizing installation contracts.”

On July 13, Federal Highway Administration Deputy Administrator Andrew Rogers joined Ohio Governor Mike Dewine to announce site selections for the installation of the first 27 NEVI-funded fast chargers in the Buckeye State—a critical investment that will help connect the nation’s EV charging network from coast to coast. Dewine and Rogers were joined by Ohio DOT Director Jack Marchbanks and DriveOhio Executive Director Preeti Choudhary for the occasion.

“The Ohio announcement is another significant step towards realizing the Administration’s goal of catalyzing the building out of a national electric vehicle charging network,” Klein said. “The implementation of the NEVI program continues to robustly move forward, and I am excited to see more states follow Ohio’s example.”