Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Nearly $150 Million In Grant Funding Will Bolster Existing U.S. EV Charging Infrastructure

Jan. 18, 2024

Electric vehicle charging port in American parking lot.

Nearly $150 million is being put to work by 24 grant recipients across 20 states in yet another White House–led investment in America’s clean energy future. The Electric Vehicle Charger Reliability and Accessibility Accelerator funding, awarded by the Biden-Harris Administration, will replace or repair roughly 4,500 existing electric vehicle (EV) charging ports. Improving this existing infrastructure is key to the Administration’s goal of having 500,000 EV chargers in the ground and operating by 2030. With quadrupled EV sales under President Biden’s tenure, demand is growing, and these dollars will ensure America’s charging infrastructure is ready.

The effort is funded by the National Electric Vehicle Infrastructure (NEVI) Formula Program, created as part of the Bipartisan Infrastructure Law, to help states build convenient, safe, and reliable EV charging infrastructure across the nation.

“Making it easy for everyone to ride and drive electric means making sure drivers can always count on EV charging stations to work when they’re needed,” said Gabe Klein, Executive Director of the Joint Office. “Repairing and replacing existing stations gives drivers the confidence they need to choose electric, complementing the buildout of much-needed, new infrastructure while creating good jobs across the country.”

The Joint Office of Energy and Transportation is proud to support grant recipients with technical assistance as they endeavor to build a charging network drivers can count on the first time, every time.

For the full list of grant recipients visit